Board of Directors

Peter MacCallum Cancer Foundation is governed by an eight-person Board of Directors. Our Board is responsible for providing strategic direction, overseeing our performance, and ensuring we operate with appropriate processes and policies. Each of our board members is passionate about Peter Mac’s work, and assumes their role in a voluntary capacity.

Our Directors

Bruce Akhurst, B.Ec (hons), LL.B, FAICD, Chairman
(appointed February 2017)

Mr Bruce Akhurst is Executive Chairman of Adstream and Director of private investment company Paul Ramsay Holdings. Mr Akhurst is a director of Tabcorp Holdings Ltd and member of its People and Remuneration Committee and Chairman of its Risk and Compliance Committee. He is also a member of the RMIT University Council and Chair of its Infrastructure & Information Technology Committee. 

Prof David Ball AO, MBBS, MD, FRANZCR
(appointed March 2017)

Professor David Ball is a radiation oncologist who was previously the Director of the multi-disciplinary Lung Service at Peter Mac. He has published over 200 book chapters and papers in the peer reviewed literature. He is one of three editors of the textbook “The IASLC Multidisciplinary Approach to Thoracic Oncology”. Professor Ball was Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Medical Imaging and Radiation Oncology 2007-2019 and is on the editorial boards of Clinical Lung Cancer and Translational Lung Cancer Research. He is currently Chair of the Australian Lung Cancer Guidelines Working Party and was a member of the Mesothelioma Guidelines Working Group. He has been a member of the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) TNM staging committee. He is a Professorial Fellow of the University of Melbourne.

In 2011, he was presented with the Merit Award of the IASLC and the Gold Medal of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists. In 2012, he received the Tom Reeve Award from the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia for outstanding service to oncology. On Australia Day 2019, he was made and Officer in the Order of Australia for distinguished service to radiation oncology, medical education and professional societies.

Mr Stewart Baron B.Juris, LLB
(appointed May 2002)

Mr Stewart Baron is Managing Director of Baron Corporation Pty Ltd, which specialises in residential, commercial and industrial property development, domestic and worldwide private equity and infrastructure investment. Mr Baron is Vice President of the Mount Scopus Memorial College Foundation, and is a member of the Young President’s Organisation Melbourne Chapter. He is a graduate of Harvard Business School OPM.

Mr Paul Bassat LLB, BCom
(appointed June 2012)

Mr Paul Bassat is a co-founder and partner of Square Peg Capital which is a venture capital fund focussed on investing in early stage technology companies in Australia, Israel and South East Asia.  He is a director at Peter MacCallum Cancer Foundation and the P&S Bassat Foundation. 

He co-founded SEEK in 1997 and served as CEO and then as Joint CEO from 1997-2011 and served as a director of Wesfarmers from 2012-2018. He started his career as a lawyer and practiced for six years. He holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Commerce from The University of Melbourne. Appointed to the AFL Commission in 2012.

Ms Jennifer Douglas BSc/LLB (Hons), LLM, MBA, GAICD
(appointed Dec 2017)

Ms Jennifer Douglas is a non-executive director with over 25 years’ experience in the media and technology industries. She is on the Boards of GUD Holdings, Essential Energy, Hansen Technologies, Opticomm and the St Kilda Football Club. From 2006 to 2016, Ms Douglas held key executive roles with Telstra including Executive Director of Telstra’s Customer Office, responsibility for Telstra's $3B Fixed Voice business and establishment of tech support business Platinum. Prior to this she was General Counsel of Sensis. 

Elizabeth Hall-Johnston BA, BCom, MBA
(appointed 2020)

Ms Elizabeth Hall-Johnston is an Investment Manager for First Exar Family Office, overseeing an investment portfolio comprising over 20 direct investments in the US equities market. Prior to joining First Exar in 2014, Ms Hall-Johnston worked for 11 years as a diplomat with the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. She represented the Australian Government at senior levels as a trade policy specialist. Ms Hall-Johnston has 15 years’ experience living and working in Hong Kong, Beijing, Shanghai, and Tokyo with professional working proficiency in Japanese and conversational Mandarin Chinese skills. She holds an MBA, Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Arts from The University of Melbourne.

Mr Dean Howell FCA
(appointed August 2003)

Mr Dean Howell is a former senior partner of Grant Thornton Australia, a leading firm of chartered accountants and management consultants. Mr Howell has had a career spanning 40 years and is now a consultant to the firm. Mr Howell is also a director of Breville Group Ltd.

Ms Maxine Morand BA, MA Prelim, GAICD
(appointed July 2017)
Ms Maxine Morand is Chair of the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Board of Directors. She is a Professorial Fellow at Monash University and teaches in the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine. Ms Morand has a background in health, cancer research, government and management.

She served in the Victorian Parliament for eight years and held a number of senior government positions including Parliamentary Secretary for Health, Minister for Children and Early Childhood Development, and Minister for Women’s Affairs. Following her parliamentary career Ms Morand served as CEO of Breast Cancer Network Australia (BCNA). Ms Morand was diagnosed and treated for breast cancer in 2011, giving her personal insight into the impact and management of a cancer diagnosis.

Mr Graeme Yarwood DipBusAdmin
(appointed May 2002)

Mr Graeme Yarwood is the former CEO of Val Morgan Cinema Advertising. Prior to this appointment, Mr Yarwood spent more than 20 years with the Nine Network. Graeme studied commerce at Melbourne University and completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University in 1998.

You may also be interested in...